Elisa E. Konofagou

Elisa E. Konofagou is the Robert and Margaret Hariri Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Professor of Radiology as well as Director of the Ultrasound and Elasticity Imaging Laboratory at Columbia University.  Her main interests are in the development of novel theranostic and therapeutic ultrasound methods for the advancement of therapeutic ultrasound.  She has co-authored over 300 published articles in the aforementioned fields.  Konofagou is a member of the National Academy of Medicine (US), an Elected Fellow of the International Society of Electrical and Electronic Engineering (IEEE), the American Institute of Biological and Medical Engineering (AIMBE), and the Acoustical Society of America (ASA).

Konofagou is a recipient of the CAREER award by the National Science Foundation (NSF), the Nagy award by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the Technological Achievement Award by the IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology society (EMBS), the Carl Hellmuth Hertz Ultrasonics Award by the IEEE Society in Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics and Frequency Control (UFFC), the Janette and Armen Avanessians Diversity Award from Columbia University, and the Elisabeth Papazoglou Inspired Leadership Award at Drexel University as well as additional recognitions by the American Heart Association, the Acoustical Society of America, the American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine, the American Association of Physicists in Medicine, the Wallace H. Coulter Foundation, the Bodossaki Foundation, the Society of Photo-optical Instrumentation Engineers (SPIE), and the Radiological Society of North America (RSNA). She also serves as President-Elect of the International Society of Therapeutic Ultrasound.

Return to Faculty Service Awards