2022 Honorary Degree Recipients

Columbia University will confer honorary degrees and recognize the alum who will receive its University Medal for Excellence at its annual Commencement exercises on May 18, 2022. This recognition is given to individuals who exemplify the ideals of the University through their significant scholarly, artistic, or societal achievements or contributions.

Hillary Rodham Clinton
Hillary Rodham Clinton

67th United States Secretary of State
Doctor of Laws

Carla D. Hayden
Carla D. Hayden

14th Librarian of Congress
Doctor of Letters 

Jodi Kantor headshot
Jodi Kantor

Investigative Journalist
University Medal for Excellence

William Kentridge headshot
William Kentridge

Doctor of Humane Letters

Yo-Yo Ma headshot
Yo-Yo Ma

Doctor of Music

James Stewart Polshek headshot
James Stewart Polshek

Dean Emeritus of the Columbia Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation 
Doctor of Humane Letters

Patti Smith headshot
Patti Smith

Musician and Poet
Doctor of Humane Letters