

PROGRAMS IN OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY

CONVOCATION AND AWARDS CEREMONY

IN HONOR OF

THE CLASS OF 2024

Thursday, May 16, 2024 10:00 a.m.

ALUMNI AUDITORIUM 650 WEST 168TH STREET

For assistive listening devices, please see an event host.

PROGRAM

- OPENING REMARKS -

Dawn M. Nilsen, EdD, OTR/L, FAOTA

Professor of Rehabilitation and Regenerative Medicine; Director, Programs in Occupational Therapy; Vice Chair, Department of Rehabilitation and Regenerative Medicine; Assistant Dean, Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons Columbia University

-WELCOME -

Katrina Armstrong, MD

Harold and Margaret Hatch Professor in the Faculty of Medicine; Executive Vice President for Health and Biomedical Sciences; Dean of the Faculties of Health Sciences and the Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons; Chief Executive Officer, Columbia University Irving Medical Center

Joel Stein, MD

Simon Baruch Professor of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation; Chair, Department of Rehabilitation & Regenerative Medicine

- COMMENCEMENT ADDRESS -

Janet Falk-Kessler, EdD, OTR/L, FAOTA Professor Emeritus of Rehabilitation and Regenerative Medicine

Introduced by: Enmanuel Bencosme Alejo, Co-President of SOTA

- PAMELA MILLER FIELDWORK EDUCATOR OF THE YEAR AWARD -

Introduced by: Dr. Phyllis Simon

- FRIEND OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY AWARD -

Introduced by: Dr. Tyra Banks

– DISTINGUISHED ALUMNA AWARD –

Introduced by: Dr. Glen Gillen

- ALUMNUS ADDRESS -

Presented by: Gloriana Wilson '23 & Maneshka Cohen '09

Introduced by: Dr. Dawn M. Nilsen

- STUDENT ADDRESS -

Presented by: Rawdah Rahim '24

Introduced by: Eden Fink, Co-President of SOTA

- STUDENT PRESENTATION -

Introduced by: Eden Fink & Enmanuel Bencosme Alejo, Presidents of SOTA

- RECOGNITION AWARDS -

ROBERT L. EVANDER ACHIEVEMENT AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN THE SCIENCES

Introduced by: Dr. Colleen Maher

EMILY RAPHAEL-GREENFIELD ACHIEVEMENT AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN MENTAL HEALTH

Introduced by: Dr. Patricia Precin

G. GORDON WILLIAMSON ACHIEVEMENT AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN PEDIATRICS

Introduced by: Dr. Julia Guzmán

PATRICIA A. MILLER ACHIEVEMENT AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN GERONTOLOGY

Introduced by: Dr. Phyllis Simon

MARGUERITE ABBOTT MEMORIAL AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN PHYSICAL DISABILITIES

Introduced by: Dr. Daniel Geller

DR. CYNTHIA HUGHES HARRIS AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN DIVERSITY, EQUITY, INCLUSION, AND BELONGING

Introduced by: Dr. Tyra Banks

STEVEN A. KATZ MEMORIAL AWARD FOR CLINICAL EXCELLENCE

Introduced by: Dr. Michael Urban

JOAN BOZUWA MEMORIAL AWARD FOR LEADERSHIP, CREATIVITY AND INTEGRITY

Introduced by: Dr. Katherine Dimitropoulou

- MASTERS CEREMONY -

Masters pinning presented by: Drs. Dawn M. Nilsen & Razan Hamed Occupational Therapy Oath recited by: Dr. Dawn M. Nilsen

- DOCTORAL HOODING CEREMONY -

Presented by: Dr. Rochelle Mendonca

- CLOSING REMARKS -

Dr. Dawn M. Nilsen

- RECEPTION -

Immediately following the Ceremony 50 Haven Ave., 1st floor



MASTER OF SCIENCE CLASS OF 2024

Monique Allen Devon Aparicio Kayla Bach Enmanuel Bencosme Alejo Magdala Blezin **Gabrielle Burgess** Kayla Chan **Emily Cohen Emily Cott** Morgan Desautelle Shayna Dessau Aarushi Dutta Esmé Erdynast Yael Even-Hen Eden Fink Mary Gardner Olivia Grigaux

Devorah Heller Rhianna Hopkins Elizabeth Jankowski Kaitlyn LaGrow Jamie Lee Abigail Levy Dahlia Lewi Ifra Maqsood Jonathan Mariani Mariana Molina Lindsey Novakovic Nancy Park Alana Perlmutter Jenna Piatelli Sarah Pomerantz **Elizabeth Popovich** Ali Price

Rawdah Rahim Nicole Salazar Lily Spitalny Synthia Steiman Lauren Suttles Heleni Trihas Catherine Uscamayta Megan Vosberg Kelsev Walsh Sharon Wetter Jami Wilkinson Samantha Wong Carly Wyatt Stephanie Yip Caroline Zemsky Natalie Ziemba Abigail Zweifach

DOCTOR OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY CLASS OF 2024

Stephanie Alvarado John R. Battle Ada Lawson Kaitlin Lillywhite Lisa Lowenthal Karen S. Martinez Sophia Norris Hailey (So Hyun) Park Jennifer M. Puac Milly Raj

FACULTY

Dr. Dawn M. Nilsen Dr. Tyra Banks Dr. Katherine Dimitropoulou Dr. Daniel Geller Dr. Glen Gillen Dr. Julia Guzmán Dr. Razan Hamed Dr. Colleen Maher

- Dr. Danielle Mahoney

Dr. Rochelle Mendonca

ADMINISTRATION

Ms. Gina Frassetto Ms. Eileen Lloyd Ms. Leslie Alas Ms. Susanna Mayas Kelsey Simonson Gurpreet Singh Megan C. Sofield Jasmine M. Tomlinson Lee A. Westover

Dr. Patricia Precin Dr. Phyllis Simon Dr. Michael Urban Prof. Todd Bryson Prof. Jeff Tomlinson Dr. Leslie Kane

Ms. Nicole Lockwood